Hannes Soomer had to retire from Race 1 in Estoril


It is perhaps surprising to many Estonians that there are other motorsports in addition to the World Rally Championships. In addition to Ott Tänak, there are other Estonians competing this weekend in Portugal, such as Hannes Soomer. The Estoril circuit in the Portuguese capital is hosting Round 3 of the World Supersport Championship, and Soomer, competing for Triumph, went hungrier to Estoril than before after the successful Dutch round.

Unfortunately, the first race of the World SSP class was characterized by many retired riders, to which the Dynavolt Triumph riders also contributed. Stefano Manzi had to retire for technical reasons and Hannes Soomer crashed. “It looks like we've reached our ceiling right now,” said Soomer, who was flown off his bike and took a long slide, as a result of which a third of his racing leathers sleeve was torn away and his arm got burnt arm. #We are working hard to change the nature of the motorcycle and make it more maneuverable, but it is not a substitute for reduced power, so we have to take more risks.”

Manzi and Soomer started today's race in P10 and P14 respectively, and when the Italian had to stop almost immediately after the start, Soomer was making advances till the start of lap 5. “I made a very good start and together with the start and the first turn I managed to pick out four fellow competitors. But then I had to give back several places, so I started riding more and more aggressively. This party couldn't last long, at the beginning of lap 5 the curb of the second corner blew the nose of the bike into the air, and from that moment on I was a passenger till I reached turn 3.”

In addition to Hannes, there were other riders who crashed out today, and among the fastest, in addition to Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta), Glenn van Straalen (Yamaha) and Jules Cluzel (Yamaha) had to retire from the race. Dominique Aegerter (Yamaha), who is also dominating the Championship this season, picked up the fourth (!) victory. The Swiss was followed by Lorenzo Baldassarri (Yamaha) and Nicolo Bulega (Ducati). Sunday's race starts at 2.30 pm Estonian time.